Skip to content

31 Days of Halloween: A complete List of Horror Movies for each day of October

So last month I have been posting scary movie reviews every day so you could start watching my recommendations in October. Unfortunately I have been very preoccupied last week, but the list is now complete and you can check it out.

You might notice that not all of them are typical horror movies that someone would watch on Halloween, but I believe that Halloween is all about terror, fear and a gripping atmosphere, and all of my recommendations will deliver that. I was very versatile with my selection, and I am sure there is something for everyone included.

For the complete review and rating of a movie please click on the title. Also check out my article The Sad Transformation of The Horror Genre

Thank you and enjoy!

1. The Descent
TheDescent_onesheet-1-500x732

2. The Shining
the-shining-dvd-cover-01

3. The Silence of The Lambs
silence_of_the_lambs_ver2_xlg
4. Dead Silence
Dead Silence

5. Trick’ R Treat
trick_r_treat_xlg
6. Sinister
sinister-new-poster

7. The Ring
600full-the-ring-poster
8. Mirrors
mirrors-movie-poster

9. It
IT movie cover

10. The Hills Have Eyes
the-hills-have-eyes-blu-ray-cover-84

11. Halloween H20: 20 Years Later
halloween_h_two_o_xlg

12. Orphan
orphan_2D

13. A Nightmare on Elm Street
nightmare_on_elm_street_xlg

14. Fallen
2sg6wPjkbde0NA2L3bgFMdgBlUM

15. The Strangers
str_fs_hp_041608.qxd:Layout 1

16. Insidious
insidious-poster

17. Drag Me To Hell
dragtohellposter

18. The Sixth Sense
The-Sixth-Sense-movie-poster

19. Frailty
frailty_xlg

20. Saw
Untitled-1

21. Scream
a26806z333i

22. Pet Sematary
pet-sematary-847513l

23. Mine Games
minegames

24. Fragile
fragile-2

25. Friday the 13th
The-Bioscope-Friday-the-13th

26. The Craft
The-craft-original

27. Psycho
11420_front

28. The Pact
The_Pact_poster

29. Child’s Play
Child's_Play

30. The Exorcist
the-exorcist-original

31. Halloween
halloween

17 Comments »

  1. Dear SYFY I would love to see one movie this Halloween Dawn Of The Dead the original 1979 not the up to date one the remake duck’s Thank You

    • I would say yes, because it caught me by surprise, and the thought of being trapped in the dark frightens me. Thank you, I am glad you like it! 😀 What is your favorite scary movie?

  2. I have forgotten most of The Descent, and I need to watch Dead Silence, It, Sinister, H20, Fallen, Insidious, Frailty, Fragile, Mine Games and The Craft 😀 Thats quite a long list, & I felt that The Pact could have dealt with the theme better.

    • Make sure you watch them at night, I made the mistake and watched Insidious on a bright day, and thought it was very bad, but after re-watching it at night, I enjoyed it. 😀 Well, that is a long list, hope you have fun… let me know if you liked them.
      The Pact could have been different and they could have changed a lot to make it better, but I really appreciated the effort that was put into it. It was a bit confusing and strange at times, but I liked it. A good independent film…

      • I am looking forward to such a night 😀 Its good that you people have Halloween there, which we don’t celebrate here. Its that celebration which I adore 😀

      • Ha, yeah moved here two years ago, and just experiencing all the hype about it. People are planning their costumes months in advance, it’s like an extra holiday.

      • Halloween has its fans here, but no followers. I guess it is too dark for this part of this world, and people would prefer if the “evil devilish thing” as they consider it, stay in the movies 😀

      • I understand that, too. I mean spirits are not to be messed with! But challenging your fears is a great thing. I will go to a haunted house for the first time this year. Well, it artificially haunted and there are actors in in, but you know what I mean.

      • I wouldn’t be surprised with what can happen here though; as who would have thought there would be multiplexes here from 2010, looking around in the 2000s? I would say all those are not far away either 😀

Share your thoughts...

No Nonsense with Nuwan Sen

Art Cinema & Literature site NS

Kids Gallore

Food, Fashion & Health For the Little Ones

Raising My Rainbow

Adventures in raising a fabulous gender creative son.

I Travel. I Eat. I Make Memories...

The Hungry Nomad Mark Simon shares what you are missing not just in Dubai but around the planet.

The Tea Cerebrations

Thoughts inspired by tea

FILM GRIMOIRE

film reviews, etc.

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

Damian Thomas Films.. Etc

A dodgy film lecture service

Early Bird Film Society

Four bloggers. Two timezones. One love for movies.

Gareth Rhodes Film Reviews

Spoiler-free film reviews

Jeyna Grace

A Story Begins

The Monday Movie Show

The Wonderful World Of Films

Ross v Ross

THE MOVIE BATTLEGROUND

Science Fiction and Other Suspect Ruminations

Reviews of Vintage Science Fiction (1945-1985)

DAG's Food Blog

My cooking adventures